Union City Evening Times, December 19, 1938

Departed Elks Are Eulogized In Impressive Memorial Services Held In New Home - High School Girls Render Songs and Don C. Ward Delivers Eulogy.

Impressive memorial services were held by the Elks Lodge in the new lodge hall at 4:30 Sunday afternoon. Attending the services were many Elks, several relatives of deceased members, and a few townspeople. A letter was read from Miss Ida Slough expressing regret that she was unable to attend the services. Exalted Ruler C. C. Fraze presided and opened the services. Harlie Garver of the memorial committee of the lodge offered the closing prayer. Other members of the committee in charge of the meeting were Don C. Ward and Dan Short.

Appropriate special music was provided by the Girls' Glee Club of the West Side High school, with Walter Shaw as director and Max Hook as pianist. The first group of songs included two numbers: "I'm Goin' Home", and "Sylvia." The second group included "Sweet Is Thy Mercy, Lord,: and the following Christmas carols: It Came Upon the Midnight Clear," :O Little Town of Bethlehem," "Silent Night," and "Hark The Herald Angel's Sing." The songs of the glee club contributed much to the impressiveness of the program, and they were deeply appreciated by all who heard them.

"It is specially fitting," said Don C. Ward in his memorial address, "that one of the first meetings to be held in this beautiful new Elks Home should be a memorial meeting in honor of those who have helped to make this home possible. On the site of this home formerly stood the frame dwelling of J. T. Shaw, pioneer dry goods merchant of Union City, who came here from Sprtanburg in 1864 and operated a store for 40 years. Upon his death in 1906 the property was purchased by Clarence S. Pierce, well known business man and city official, who built the the brick residence which is now a part of this Elks Home. Pierce was a loyal member of the Elks Lodge at Greenville, and if he were living now, at the age of 68, he would be a member of this lodge. Soon after his death in 1918, another loyal Elk, Stewart H. Clark, purchased the residence which he later sold to this lodge for the purpose of making it into a home. So this home is in reality a memorial to loyal Elks, living and dead, and today we pay tribute to all of them."

"Three sacred words in the Elks ritual are, 'Our Departed Brothers'," continued the speaker. He said that departed Elks are never forgotten but are remembered constantly, not only at the magic hour of 11 o'clock, or on special memorial occasions, but at all times. He dwelt upon the value of memory, and told why individuals are remembered, including relatives, friends, business associates, teachers and students, pastors and religious workers, patriotic national defenders, and members of fraternal orders. "If there is any desire implanted in the human heart as firmly as any other," declared the speaker, "it is the desire to be remembered by those who come after us." He disputed the truth of Marc Anthony's statement in Shakespeare's "Julius Caesar," The evil that men do lives after them. The good is often intered with their bones." "This may have been true in the heathenistic regime of ancient Rome," he said, "but it is not true now in these days of Christianity and fraternity."

The speaker then called the roll of 22 departed Elks, former members of the Union City lodge, and paid a brief but warm tribute to each. These members died between the organization of the lodge of 92 members in 1927 and the present time when the membership is 259. Of the deceased members 13 were charter members, and three had formerly belonged to the Greenville Elks. In speaking of George Eberling the speaker said that the two properties given to the lodge by Eberling had been sold recently and the money will be applied to the small remaining debt on the new home. The following were officers of the lodge: Roll B. Turpen, first Exalted Ruler; George Slough, trustee; Elmer A. Frank, treasurer.

The following is the complete list of departed Elks:

1928 - Roll B. Turpen, William T. Smith.
1929 - John Schricker, Edward L. Fouts, Lee M. Welbourn, E. L. Buckingham.
1931 - Patrick H. Brady, Dr. F. A. Zeller.
1932 - C. W. Helmsoth.
1933 - George Eberling, A. E. Evans.
1935 - J. F. Wheatley, George A. Slough, George Ruff, Dr. S. D. Smith, W. B. Wolf.
1936 - James Leahey, Allan P. Rice.
1937 - George Feinburg, James J. Short.
1938 - Elmer A. Frank, Court Elmer.

"These," said Ward, in concluding his appropriate memorial address, "are out departed brothers whose memory we salute today. The years may come and go but they will never pass from our recollection. They will always be to us 'our departed brothers,' although dwelling apart from us in another home. When a little girl was once asked by her mother why she came home each evening time from play by means of a path through the cemetery, she replied, 'Because, Momma, it is the nearest way home.' In like manner have our departed brothers taken the path through the cemetery because it is the nearest way home; not to their earthly homes, however bright and happy and comfortable, but to that great eternal home which is without death, without parting, without sorrow, without suffering, without heartbreak. And may we not hope and trust and believe that somehow, somewhere, from that great eternal home they are now looking down upon us, with sympathy and love, in the full enjoyment of that which they so richly deserve - the everlasting joys of immortality."